Pixelation on HD Channels

In the unlikely ;) event you encounter a bug, tell us here
Post Reply
darrenst
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:48 pm

Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by darrenst » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:09 pm

Hi,

I am getting very bad pixelation on HD Channels, the SD are fine.

Sometimes you can go a couple of mins without distortion.

Sometimes the buffering box appears for a short while too.

Argus is running on a i5 with 8GB ram, a digital devices Cine C/T and windows 7.

This aerial is fine as when I plug into my TV the HD picture is very clear and stable.

The frequency is set correctly for BBC HD channels

The fontend is Kodi 15.2 Isengard
The backend Argus TV 2.3

Image

I have tested on a different PC running Kodi and same issue.

Any Ideas?

Thank you

darrenst
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by darrenst » Thu Oct 22, 2015 3:01 pm

Any ideas Argus TV?

Do you monitor your own forum posts?

BartZorn
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:03 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by BartZorn » Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:13 pm

What graphics card are you using?

I had/have similar problems with Kodi (with DVBlink as backend, but I suspect that does not make musch difference).

I have Intel integrated graphics and I found out that Intel had released a new driver for it. Windows did not yet know about it. This was a huge improvement, but the problem did not go away completely.

Another possibility is increasing the cachelevel in Kodi: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=6687&p=37169&hilit ... ngs#p37169

HTH,

Bart
AsRock Q2900-ITX with Intel J2900 quad core processor, 8GB memory
Digital Devices Cine S2 V7 with CI module
Windows 10 Pro x64
Kodi 17.4

rudig
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by rudig » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:18 pm

Did you check your antenne cabling?

BartZorn
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:03 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by BartZorn » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:51 pm

Well, both DVBlink and Argus TV report 100% signal strength and 100% signal quality during scanning. Also, my previous tuner, a SAB Unix triple has no problems (actually, a lot of problems, but not with signal strength and quality)

So I am inclined to believe that my dish/LNB's/cabling is OK.

But I certainly like to hear it if I am missing something!

Bart
AsRock Q2900-ITX with Intel J2900 quad core processor, 8GB memory
Digital Devices Cine S2 V7 with CI module
Windows 10 Pro x64
Kodi 17.4

rudig
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by rudig » Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:45 pm

Sounds logical that cabling should not be an issue.
Since introduction of 4g cellular we've seen more issues. Therefore cabling could be issue.

Other things like drivers CPU utilization, have you checked these?

simonsays
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:56 am

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by simonsays » Thu May 12, 2016 12:10 pm

I do not know how much of an issue that can be with satellite, but with cable, the signal can be too strong.

I have a Digital Devices card and a Y Split an 10m between the outlet an the card. There was an Amplifier between card an outlet and all was well.

Then the cable company tinkered with the signal strenght and the signal was too strong, wich resulted in very much the same errors as too weak signal. Removing the amplifier helped and all is well again.

BartZorn
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:03 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by BartZorn » Wed May 25, 2016 10:42 pm

rudig wrote:Sounds logical that cabling should not be an issue.
Since introduction of 4g cellular we've seen more issues. Therefore cabling could be issue.

Other things like drivers CPU utilization, have you checked these?
Sorry that I did not respond sooner. But the problem went away by itself. Of course, I should expect it to come back, but until this day, it has not.

The CPU utilization is normally around 30%. I don't know what part drivers take of that.

Bart
AsRock Q2900-ITX with Intel J2900 quad core processor, 8GB memory
Digital Devices Cine S2 V7 with CI module
Windows 10 Pro x64
Kodi 17.4

BartZorn
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:03 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Pixelation on HD Channels

Post by BartZorn » Wed May 25, 2016 10:44 pm

simonsays wrote:I do not know how much of an issue that can be with satellite, but with cable, the signal can be too strong.

I have a Digital Devices card and a Y Split an 10m between the outlet an the card. There was an Amplifier between card an outlet and all was well.

Then the cable company tinkered with the signal strenght and the signal was too strong, wich resulted in very much the same errors as too weak signal. Removing the amplifier helped and all is well again.
There is no external amplifier which can be taken out. During channel search, the software reports 100% signal strength and also 100% signal quality.

Bart
AsRock Q2900-ITX with Intel J2900 quad core processor, 8GB memory
Digital Devices Cine S2 V7 with CI module
Windows 10 Pro x64
Kodi 17.4

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests