cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Share your ARGUS TV tips & tricks here
maarten77
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:38 pm

cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by maarten77 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:41 pm

This thread has been pulled from the archives, some editing has been done to reflect the new name. -Mod

I am recording TV shows as .ts and want to cut out commercials (my HTPC app Meedio does not support .edl files). The filename should remain the same as the actual ARGUS TV recording.
After using some other software for video cutting that did not give good results (mendocer) I decided to spend some $$$ and buy videoredo (i might have tried a bit harder with mencoder but it was quite frustrating :-) (http://www.videoredo.com)

anyway, here is the batch file that you can use in ARGUS TV post processing. and make sure you add output_videoredo=1 to your comskip.ini file.

warning, this batch file replaces the original file with the "clean" file. If the clean file is not produced to your liking, the original cannot be restored. try this out with an episode from McLeod's daughters or something before you actually start post processing. alternatively, you can remove the lines with del and move.
to test, just drag and drop a .ts file on this batch file.

Code: Select all

@echo off
REM Comskip and VideoRedo
REM replace the comskip and videoredo path in the file below
REM ********************************************************

if EXIST "%~dpn1.VPrj" goto cutting

:comskip
echo no VPrj file exists yet, let's run comskip
"c:\program files\comskip\comskip.exe" "%~dpn1.ts"
if NOT EXIST "%~dpn1.VPrj" goto comskipfail

:cutting
echo Comskip succeeded, will now start videoredo
cscript //nologo "C:\Program Files\VideoRedo\vp.vbs" "%~dpn1.VPrj" "%~dpn1_clean.ts" /t4 /d /e
if NOT EXIST "%~dpn1_clean.ts" goto cuttingfail

:success
echo Removing commercials was succesful!
del "%~dpn1.ts"
move "%~dpn1_clean.ts" "%~dpn1.ts"
goto eof

:comskipfail
echo ComSkip did not create a .VPrj file. Check ComSkip location and .ini file.
goto eof

:cuttingfail
echo VideoRedo did not return a clean video file. Check VideoRedo location.
goto eof

:eof
REM pause

rickyg
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:36 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by rickyg » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:59 pm

hi there.
I have never played with comskip or any other such tool.
I am fairly new to this whole thing.
I am guessing form what you wrote, that setting up this script means that ARGUS TV will launch a post processing process that uses videoredo to remove commercials from the file. Is this correct.
I was always under the impression that removing commercials from a ts file was manual in nature....or am I missing something..it wouldn"t be the first time..

User avatar
luetty
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Germany/ Westerwald

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by luetty » Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:58 pm

[quote="rickyg"]hi there.
I have never played with comskip or any other such tool.
I am fairly new to this whole thing.
I am guessing form what you wrote, that setting up this script means that ARGUS TV will launch a post processing process that uses videoredo to remove commercials from the file. Is this correct.
I was always under the impression that removing commercials from a ts file was manual in nature....or am I missing something..it wouldn"t be the first time..[/quote]

No, it should not a manual way to do this.
Comskip analyze the stream and find the senderlogo, react on Displayratiochanges, Soundchanges and - i think - it can be many more.
It's not a manual thing, to "cut" the commercials from TS.

Im also fairy, because comskip dosent work for me - but this time i use the original TV-Engine from MP and not ARGUS TV.

Comskip will not cleanup the commercials from the file! It marks "only" commercials from beginning to end and the TV-Engine jump, in Case of "Starting-Marker" to the End of this marker.
So, if you view the recording no commercials should displayed. If you burn the recording, viewing with other applikation (without supporting comskip) or view over "videos" all commercials are present and displayed.

To cut commercials, from file, you must use comclean i think.

..ciao
luetty

providers
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by providers » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:08 pm

Hi.

I cant make this work, If I drag my *.ts file onto the bat file, It generates 4 files
name.log
name.txt
name.logo.txt
name.PRvj

But id does not look like VideoRedo ever starts.
If I look at the bat file it look like Videoredo look for a file called "name dpn1.VPrj"
But maybe Im wrong Im no master in bat files.
(I have changed the path to my Videoredo)

But my file is not called anything with "dpn1"
hope someone can help me out

/Providers

maarten77
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:38 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by maarten77 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:59 pm

" %~dpn1 " is a variable that represents the first argument passed to the batch file, without the extension.
if you drop a file on the batch file, it is the same as running the batch file with that file as an argument.

so, when you drop c:\test.ts on the batch file, the variable %~dpn1 will be " c:\test".

if you read the batch file this way, you will understand the code better.

to solve your problem, add REM before the line @echo off in the beginning of the batch file and remove the REM before pause.
This will show all output of the batch file to your screen and after the batch file is done, it will wait for you to press a key.
This way you can see what went wrong when calling videoredo.

check the path for videoredo again (and use "" around the pathname to prevent mistakes, like "c:\program files\video redo" ) and check that there is a file vp.vbs in your videoredo folder.

providers
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by providers » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:48 pm

I think its the VideoRedo that die....
I have tryed to start it with the :ts file and then drop the *.PRvj file to it.
And then it says that there has stop responding....

maybe it does not work with vista.

maarten77
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:38 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by maarten77 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:31 am

have tryed to start it with the :ts file and then drop the *.PRvj file to it.
hmm that sound like a bad idea. i'm not sure what you're doing, but I would stick to the original plan ;-)
anyway, did you try what I suggested? please report back what the results are.

providers
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by providers » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:22 pm

hehe

Found a solution, only need to make the txt file, no need for cutting.
Mediaportal can then skip via the remote.

thanks
/Providers

User avatar
PaulAEvans
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:42 am

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by PaulAEvans » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:52 pm

hehe

Found a solution, only need to make the txt file, no need for cutting.
Mediaportal can then skip via the remote.

thanks
/Providers
hi Providers, I tried putting a .TS file into VideoRedo marking prog start and finish and then saving chapters from VideoRedo as progname.txt file. But I cant get it to work.. what are the things that are needed?

I tied using Video option to play with F8 to go to next... ditto in TV (with ARGUS TV recorded prog menu option) still no joy??
Server: Gigabyte GA-Ex58-UD3R Intel i7 Corsair 6GB;Os on Sandisk 128GB SSD; TBS 6984 QuadDVB-S2, Nova-DT Dual DVB-T, Win7 SP1, Argus 2.3, SQLExp 2012
Clients: 3x XBMC RaspPi;1x ASUS A8N-VM CSM AMD 4200+ 2GB RAM, Win7 SP1 MP1.6/XBMC,Argus 2.3

sunsetdk
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 4:19 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: cut comercials from .TS file using comskip and VideoRedo

Post by sunsetdk » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:56 pm

providers wrote:Found a solution, only need to make the txt file, no need for cutting.
Mediaportal can then skip via the remote.
How have you setup MP so you can use the remote to skip adds? I have a MCE remote. I can't seem to get it to work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest