Suggestions and Alerts?

Full administration access to your ARGUS TV system
sgibbers17

Suggestions and Alerts?

Post by sgibbers17 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 10:40 pm

Does the suggestions tab in the schedule console need to be setup for it to work? I have been using argus tv for a couple of months now and have over 20 series recording setup and I have no suggestions.

Also what is the alerts for? I thought it would be for letting you know if you don't have a free tuner or if there there are too many shows scheduled to record at once. But when I run into these situations they are not in the alerts sections. They are in the upcoming recording with a red x through a grey circle. And when I investigate the software tells me that it is because there is no free tuner or there is something else already recording.

andrewNZ

Re: Suggestions and Alerts?

Post by andrewNZ » Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:50 am

You can fix it, or you can fix it until it's broken. I usually choose the latter.

Server: WHS 2011. Hauppauge HVR 2200. Avermedia A835. ArgusTV Server. EPG Collector.
Clients: Win7 64bit. MediaPortal. ArgusTV Client. StreamedMP.

sgibbers17

Post by sgibbers17 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:34 pm

Yeah that was the first place I looked for answers but it is not very detailed about suggestions or alerts other than that there is a section for them in the scheduler.
Suggestions
Suggestions are programs the user may be interested in, their purpose is primarily to draw the users attention. Suggestions are displayed as normal, with a green ticked circle icon.
Alerts
Alerts are similar to suggestions, but are shaded yellow and have a yellow alert triangle icon. If the client software supports it, ARGUS TV can display a popup window asking the user wants to switch channels, and view the program.
Creating schedules
The process for creating schedules is essentially the same for Recordings, Suggestions & Alerts, this guide will cover recordings.
Exporting